First Fresh FM SOTY Awards celebrates local musicians

Michael Kayunde
Fresh FM hosted its first annual Fresh FM Song of the Year Awards (SOTY) in Windhoek last Friday, which was aimed at recognising and rewarding outstanding local musical achievements within the country.
Listeners were asked to vote for their favourite song from a selection of ten tracks, which were judged by the station to have received the most support from Fresh FM listeners. These songs were released between January and November 2023. Voting was conducted via Fresh FM’s WhatsApp competition line.
The SOTY award went to Ms Gideon’s ‘Jehova’ – a track that captured the hearts of the listeners with its musical excellence and meaningful lyrics.
Distinguished individuals from various sectors attended the event, including Emma Theofilus, deputy minister of ICT, Albert Nicanor, CEO of Nascam, as well as local artists.
SOTY nominees received framed certificates as recognition for their exceptional contributions to the Namibian music industry. Additionally, Ms Gidoen in absentia, was presented with a trophy and received two return tickets to any of Fly Namibia’s local destinations. Furthermore, she also received N$50 000 worth of airtime to further promote her music.