Amupala to lead Scouts

Simeon Amupala was elected as the new Chief Scout of Scouts of Namibia during a virtual Extraordinary General Meeting of the National Scout Council.
At the same meeting, Audrin Mathe was re-elected as National President for a second three-year term.
Also elected for three-year terms were Frank van Rooyen Ttreasurer), Thomas Amutenya (National Commissioner: Adult Leader Training), Ellis Müller (National Commissioner: Scouts), Tully Indongo (National Commissioner: Rovers), Sonja Bartsch (National Commissioner: International Affairs), and Paulus Hanghome (Additional Exco Member).
Amupala succeeds Jim Kastelic, who stepped down as Chief Scout after serving in the position for a constitutionally limited two terms. Amupala had previously served as the Deputy Chief Scout since 2016.
Scouting is the world’s leading educational youth movement, engaging nearly 60 million young people in 182 countries to be active citizens and create positive change in their communities. The Movement was founded by Lord Robert Baden-Powell in 1907. Scouting was established in Namibia in 1917. Today there are more than 4 000 Scouts – boys and girls from all walks of life – and adult volunteer leaders at 80 different Scout groups (including schools) in Namibia.
Scouts of Namibia is a full member of the World Organisation of the Scout Movement and an affiliate member of the National Youth Council of Namibia.