City announces junior council

During the junior council elections held at Town House last week, Moses Filipus, a grade 11 learner at Jan Mohr Secondary School, was elected as Windhoek's new junior mayor for 2022/23.
Moses triumphed over nine other learners from various schools in the Khomas region who were contending for the position. He takes over from Shetukana Lesley, who was at Dawid Bezuidenhout High School.
Moses is deputised by Fenn Paulus from Hage Geingob High School, while Ruusa Salomo from Acacia High School serves as secretary. Katire Tjijandjeua from Centaurus High School is the treasurer.
The learners will serve in the positions for two years.
The City of Windhoek junior council was established in 1999 to, amongst others, be a vehicle by which learners can be involved in their communities and create change through the young initiative programme.