BoN appoints new board members

The Bank of Namibia (BoN) has appointed Dr. Meshack Tjirongo, Adv. Eliaser Nekwaya and Peter Kruger as non-executive members of its board of directors and the re-appointment of Ehrenfried Meroro as a non-executive board member.
These appointments will take effect from 1 February 2024.
“As the Bank steps into the conclusive year of its strategic plan, we are pleased to welcome the new board members who will play a crucial role in providing the necessary oversight as we discharge our mandate,” said BoN governor Johannes !Gawaxab.
Kruger is currently serving as the manager of information systems and technology at a Namibian uranium mine and brings more than 26 years of expertise in artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, IT security, operational leadership, financial management and corporate governance, the BoN said in a statement.
Nekwaya is a legal professional, bringing a wealth of experience in corporate governance and risk management.
As a member of the Society of Advocates of Namibia, he has demonstrated extensive expertise across various disciplines, including policy oversight, financial stewardship and operational supervision, according to the BoN.
With a wealth of experience exceeding 30 years, Tjirongo has been actively involved in formulating and implementing macroeconomic policies, providing counsel on economic and development policy matters across various countries in Africa, North America and Europe.
He joined the BoN in 1990 within the research department, progressing to the role of director where he played a pivotal role in designing and implementing monetary policy responses as well as the exchange rate regime for Namibia, the central bank said.